whoami

Lets get this part over with. The ego must be stroked, the id be tended to. Let me state for the record, that I am Shaun Livingstone.

Of course, Shaun Livingstone is just the name of my EVE Online persona, but it’s the only name you’ll get out of me, I’m afraid.

Who then, is Shaun?

He’s a proud and card-carrying member of the Amarr race. I’ve played since August 2007, but not non-stop. I took what I believe was a four or five months breaks this Spring, getting my kicks in World of Warcraft. Please, don’t judge.

I’ve been a member of a small number of corporations, among the most famous one probably is Eve University. My stay there, however, was prompted by an assignment given to me by the editor of EON magazine, mr. Zapatero himself. Despite my inability to follow deadlines (I have a relationship to those things akin to what the late mr. Douglas Adams is said to have had, namely, that he loved the sound they made as they passed), my sad lack of knowledge in all things I’m supposed to cover, my childlike grasp of grammar, sentence structure and spelling (English is not my first language), and my weird and stormy relationship to parentheses (in case you haven’t noticed) – despite all this, I have managed to get a few articles published in EON. Which is good, because it pays really well (not in Euro, or even USD, but in ISK, which is far more useful if you got a lousy head for economics, but still want that new battleship).

Currently I’m in a small corporation called iMine Industries, where I’ve somehow managed to go and become a sort of director. I’m a miner foremost, heavily invested in industrial skills, but I do keep an eye towards the pew-pew, although it’s all about the PVE for me. If you think the lag in EVE is bad, try playing it on my laptop, which gives the additional bonus of not quite handling the game. Try it, and speak no more of the issue.

I have a few posts lined up already, dealing with such matters as other blogs, podcasts and, hell, maybe even the game itself. I just need to write them first, is all 😉

Until then, fly safe.

~ by Shaun Livingstone on October 5, 2008.

8 Responses to “whoami”

  1. Ooooh, just discovered your blog and I likes it already!

  2. Oh my god, I know you. 🙂

  3. in-game I mean.

  4. @Mynxee – Thank you 🙂 And thank you also for your exploration advice. I’ll be sure to look you up next time I get stumped.

    @James Egan – What the F? 🙂

  5. Ok, do you remember now?

  6. Sorry, still not sure. But I did email you to try and figure things out. For full disclosure: I have a terrible memory for names. I call all my relatives for “Hey, uuh, you..”

  7. yeah I emailed you back a little while ago, that’s what I meant by “do you remember now”. No matter, it’s cool. 🙂 And I’m glad to see another EVE blog is born.

  8. Ah. The mailserver tends to look suspiciously at all emails originating from abroad. Took a while to get to me. Mystery solved then. To repeat myself: the internet is a small place 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
