The Allure of EVE

Welcome to the second installment of the EVE Blog Banter, the monthly EVE Online blogging extravaganza created by CrazyKinux. The EVE Blog Banter involves an enthusiastic group of gaming bloggers, a common topic within the realm of EVE Online, and a week to post articles pertaining to the said topic. The resulting articles can either be short or quite extensive, either funny or dead serious, but are always a great fun to read! Any questions about the EVE Blog Banter should be directed here. Check out other EVE Blog Banter articles at the bottom of this post!

This month’s EVE Blog Banter comes to us from Brinelan over at The Shard. He asks: What drew us into EVE, what keeps us playing the game and what brought us back if we’ve ever left?

Why on earth would anyone want to play EVE? It’s been described as a game so boring that only tax accountants can find any appeal in it. It’s been called a job, one you pay for doing. Horrible, horrible things. And that’s not even discussing all the horrible nerfs and whatnot the poor playerbase is subjected to on a regular basis. It’s a wonder the universe of EVE is not an empty wasteland with tumbleweed slowly drifting by in, uuh, zero-g.

I’m not sure what drew me to EVE in the first place. I think it was the internet spaceships. For a long time, and I mean months, maybe even years, before I started playing EVE I had been reading the dev blogs, always checking in from time to time. I even read the forums, trying to make sense of what people were talking about. The reason for the surveying without participating was simple: I didn’t have the computer to handle anything gamey.

Once the hardware problem was solved I found myself in a position where I was without an internet connection at my place of residence. The irony of this was not lost on me. So the first time I logged into EVE I was sitting in one of the university cafeterias, happily exploiting the WLAN for my wicked personal gain. I had my headset on and generally tried to ignore people around me, trying to feel cyberpunky and whatnot.

Anyway, to say it was love at first sight is an exaggaration. My first character soon found itself biomassed and I tried again. My second character got so far as to join a player corporation. But that was it. Another mmo had by then gotten my attention, and since my RL friends were playing that, I drifted out of EVE again.

The other MMO lost its appeal after some time, and I found myself pining for something else. And back to EVE I went. My second character got biomassed and I entered EVE in my current incarnation.

But why?

I percieve a depth in the game that may or may not be there for everyone else. The possibility to shape the political boundaries in nullsec, the consequences to your actions which (barring the use of throwaway alts) has repercussions for you and your character, even if it’s just a tarnished reputation. And when something is added to the game, it’s not merely a question of more of the same, rather it’s adding more depth, more options and possibilities.

Of course I’ve had my share of EVE burnouts. While I do have an attention span qualifying me as an adult, sometimes it’s just not working for me. That is when I take a break from EVE, and we part ways, but I still keep in touch, checking on the blogs and the forum and the news and whatnot, knowing that I’ll come back one day.

Participants:

~ by Shaun Livingstone on November 26, 2008.

14 Responses to “The Allure of EVE”

  1. I think everyone goes through lulls and burnouts where there is no compelling reason to log in except to change a skill. A change of focus, or in some cases a change of corp, has re-energized the game for me at such times. One thing I know for sure…being a low sec pirate is THE THING for me…I might mix it up with some exploration or industry stuff on my alt…but life in low sec is “home” now–the perfect balance of freedom, opportunity, and excitement for me.

  2. […] Semper EVE […]

  3. Lulls and burnouts, they happen all the time. You do see it a lot when the summer ends, again leading in November through the holidays and yet again when the winter ends. It comes in waves. The trick is to actually take breaks if you can. I started doing something that has helped a lot, I don’t play on Sundays. It used to due to the lag issues, but I found that a break every week helped me to not become bored, not to mention that it gives me time for other things like blogging and spending time with my family.

    Find what works for you.

  4. […] Semper EVE: The Allure of EVE […]

  5. […] Semper EVE […]

  6. I’ve read and talked to a few folks who also had a difficult time actually getting past the first few weeks of playing the game. She’s a tough mistress, but if you give her some time and attention, you get so much back it’s worth it!

    It’s a shame when you think about it, that so many people quit once they’ve done the trial, or shortly after.

  7. […] Semper EVE: The Allure of EVE […]

  8. Yes, you do get burnout, I’ve been very close to it several times, but it’s always been the people/ corp I’ve been in has kept me at it.

    And as everyone says, you always come back, knowing your character is good to go as soon as you log in 🙂

  9. What I say to people who say EVE is too hard or too much work:

    Easy ventures as vast as MMOs are not worth doing.

  10. […] Spaceships is Serious Business</a></li><li>Semper EVE: <a href=”https://sempereve.wordpress.com/2008/11/26/the-allure-of-eve/“>The Allure of EVE</a></li><li>A Merry Life and a Short One: <a […]

  11. It’s the “Instant Gratification” that this generation demands. If it takes any thinking or effort, forget it, move on to the next game.

    I thank CCP daily for not catering to these whiny, snot nosed bunch of brats. I enjoy the depth in EVE. I crave the learning curve.

    I know so little about EVE it’s not even funny. I can fly some Minmatar ships, but not all. I focus on flying the ones I do very well. I have never mined. I rarely mission. I don’t do industry or science. I don’t even PVP a lot.

    What the heck do I do in EVE? No wonder I don’t have burnout.

  12. […] Semper EVE: The Allure of EVE […]

  13. The only thing keeping me from EVE is the subscription model. Other than that, it looks like just the sort of game to suck me in.

  14. […] Semper EVE: The Allure of EVE […]

Leave a Reply

 
