The Majesty

I’ve alluded to this in a number of entries and, I believe, in my articles in EON. This, is the greatness, the vastness, the eternity of space and of time. Of everything. And my eagerness to put into perspective our, mankind’s, place in it all.

Our perspective is easily that of an antropocentric one. Religious ideas put us into the center of Creation, being shaped into the likeness of an almighty being and all that. My beliefs do not follow that track. We are the children of stars, in the sense that the physical particles that make up our bodies emanated from the burning furnaces of the skies, millions of years ago. It’s all very hippie, I know.

But I’m blissfully drunk and I do not care.

So in order to ease my burden, I present to you a clip from the movie Immortal Beloved. It’s the finale from Beethoven’s 9th.

~ by Shaun Livingstone on January 23, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
