The Hand of God, cut off in its prime

My Abaddon class battleship, initally christened Mother Superior and with its name later on changed to Hand of God is no more. She lived a violent life, and was brought to her demise by a combination of surprisingly large DPS, a warp disruptor, a small amount of lag, and the stupidity of her captain.

She was also uninsured, because that’s the way I roll.

This loss actually stings, because I’m uncertain right now wheter to actually spring the isk for another ship. I can afford it, sure, but it would bring my personal (liquid) finances to a number possibly too awful to contemplate. I’ve been spending a lot more money than I’ve been earning lately, so yeah, that doesn’t help.

Time to take a step back and consider matters. A rough estimate of the value of my modules puts it at some 15 million isks. Top. A new Abaddon can be bought for slightly less than 140 million. 155 million isk to fly again. Perhaps the Hand of God II is worth the investment?

She will be missed.

She will be missed.

~ by Shaun Livingstone on January 26, 2009.

3 Responses to “The Hand of God, cut off in its prime”

  1. R.I.P. I’m sorry for your loss. It hurts when you become attached to your ship.

    Taking a step back and making sure if another Abaddon is a good idea is the right thing to do. Weigh everything carefully.

  2. Odd, but I have an Abbaddon named “The Hand of God” too! Sorry to hear you lost her, but they’re a good ship — get another!

  3. I took the name “Hand of God” from “Consider Phlebas”. Ian M. Banks have the best names for spaceships šŸ˜‰

    I didn’t get another Abaddon, but I did get an Apocalypse. She’s called “Lapsed Pacifist” and I must say that we get along great so far.

Leave a Reply

 
