Finally a use for a Covetor

A while back I acquired a Covetor and quickly fitted it in a way that by no means let me use my skills to their full potential when it comes to mining, but instead allows me to adequately mine whatever types of ore I come across, while still being a cheap enough ship that I won’t cry my eyes out if and when it goes poof.

My Covetor, Deep Throat, is fitted thusly:

I really ought to switch the Survey Scanner to it’s t2 equivalent, but a t1 was all I had in storage at the time of fitting, and since I’m inherently lazy… meh.

There be... uuh... ores in them there roids!

There be... uuh... ores in them there roids!

With the advent of the new exploration system I’m more likely to actually do some exploring, since it no longer entails waiting for 5+ minutes for a negative result all the time. And with more exploring comes more sites found, and these sites have to be exploited, otherwise, what’s the bloody point?

Thus it came to pass that as I had narrowed down two gravimetric sites I decided to do some solo mining in dangerous territory. I had to go through lo sec to get to the sites. And in fact one of the sites was (actually, at the time of writing, is) in lo sec. This makes the Covetor the perfect ship. I don’t expect to be blown up, but even if the chance is slim, the ore there is not worth the risk, when it all comes down to it, to fly in with my Hulk, The Reaper.

The lasers, they hurt my ship.

The lasers, they hurt my ship.

The types of ore I’ve found in those grav sites are, in no particular order, Jaspet, Hemorphite, Hedbergite, Dark Ochre, Spodumain and Crokite. I can’t be arsed to look this up, but I suspect that Jaspet, Hemorphite and Hedbergite would otherwise be found in lo sec belts, making me stupid for bothering with a grav site to mine them, but hey, whatever. Atleast in a grav site I’m reasonably undisturbed, and less likely to be found.

Mining solo is, by the way, bloody boring. And not very efficient. Deep Throat can only fit a bit over 6000 m^3 in its holds, despite her name, and that’s just a bit over two cycles for my set of strippers. So every 7th minute or so, I find myself warping back to a station, my cargohold filled up. It has its advantages though, mining in not-so-secure-space means I can’t let my ADHD run wild and alt+tab out and roam the interwebs, chasing whatever random tidbit of information I suddenly feel a craving for. But mining like this I can dock up and do my little bit of googling and surfing, and then get back in the game, not feeling guilty over leaving any corp mates hanging and waiting.

It’d probably be more profitable to just find a suitable belt in hi sec and get working on that Veldspar. Hell, if I went to 1.0 (and maybe 0.9 as well? I forget) I wouldn’t even have to “worry” about rats and could just concentrate on mining and mining and mining. But that would not be as much fun. And if I’m not having fun, then why the hell would I be playing this game. Yes, it’s a game. There. I said it. I’m not taking it back. Nuh-uh.

Updated asteroid looks and laser effects. Nifty.

Updated asteroid looks and laser effects. Nifty.

There’s still some ore out there for me to harvest before someone else finds the grav site and empties it. There is, however, a bit of a rat problem. I’m starting to feel that I need a bit more firepower, because I just realized that there might be battleship spawns a-coming in lo sec nowadays. Or I just play it cool and warp the hell out once that happens. Either way, it’s only a Covetor.

Update:

2009.03.31 10:12:00

Victim: Shaun Livingstone
Corp: iMine Industries
Alliance: NONE
Faction: NONE
Destroyed: Covetor
System: Namaili
Security: 0.4
Damage Taken: 3899

Involved parties:

Name: kakakarrr (laid the final blow)
Security: 2.9
Corp: C.P.S.
Alliance: NONE
Faction: NONE
Ship: Tempest
Weapon: 800mm Repeating Artillery II
Damage Done: 3766

Name: Sansha’s Cannibal / True Power
Damage Done: 133

Destroyed items:

Strip Miner I
Spodumain, Qty: 186 (Cargo)
Expanded Cargohold II, Qty: 2
Acolyte I, Qty: 2 (Drone Bay)

Dropped items:

Strip Miner I, Qty: 2
Acolyte I, Qty: 3 (Drone Bay)
Survey Scanner I

Meh. Fair enough 🙂

How the kill went down:

I had warped back and forth between the site and the station. I noticed one person in local and checked him out. No warning bells so far. I did my little mining, and then enother guy showed up in local. Hum hum. Atleast they’re not in the same corp. Not wanting to be an alarmist or anything I clicked to align to my station (yeah, why wasn’t I aligned in the first place? We live, we learn…). However, just as Deep Throat begins to twist and turn to get into position, a ship pops up in my overview.

I begin pounding the warp button but to no avail, my ship’s simply not aligned. First salvo takes me deep into armor, and by now I know it’s just a matter of time. I briefly ponder the future of my implants as I keep clicking on warp, hoping against hope to atleast get my capsule into safety.

As it happens, my capsule makes it to the station. Some loss but hey, no worries. Atleast I got my pulse racing there for a little while. Fair kill and all that.

All I’m wondering is how he found me so fast. Was the first guy, member of an NPC corp, his alt that scanned me down? Because he was in the system for some time before this other guy showed up. This other fella was not in the system for that long a time. Hell, who would even scan using a Tempest?

~ by Shaun Livingstone on March 31, 2009.

One Response to “Finally a use for a Covetor”

  1. Maybe the pirate had already bookmarked the site and would check it regularly for possible victims.

Leave a Reply

 
