Should I go all in?

I’m about to buy an Orca, because the carebear in me must be sated. It hungers. Problem is I have barely enough isk to afford it and all the mods and rigs that I want with it. With “barely” I mean that if I skip the rigs I’ll be left with less than a 100 million isk.

That’s not a lot of money. If I lose the Orca, or my yummy lovely Hand of God III with that kind of money in the bank I’m not able to afford a replacement. And that breaks the first law of EVE: Never fly anything you cannot afford to loose.

So I think I’ll hold off for a while, run a few more missions, dick around with manufacturing and offload it unto the market. It wouldn’t take me that long to earn a safety net that’d let me buy that Orca without crying in fear everytime I go through a gate (in frickin’ high sec for crying out loud).

But have you ever gone all in? Thrown caution to the wind for that special ship, or fit, or implant, or even skillbook? I’ve been utterly and completely broke more times than I could ever remember iRL, so why am I so careful in an internet spaceship game?

~ by Shaun Livingstone on August 7, 2010.

2 Responses to “Should I go all in?”

  1. Just go for it. I mean, it’s not like you’re going to go out of your way to pvp with an orca is it? Do people actually suicide gank orcas? If it’s going to help you make more isk sooner, then do it imo.

  2. Yeah, I went ahead and did it. Life’s too short. I was down to 9 million isk in my wallet after buying everything, rigs and all. That did not feel nice. However, with the weekend arriving my sell orders in Amarr finally found some customer, so it’s all good now.

Leave a Reply

 
